Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Techno, from Fiesta!

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jimmy Lopez Bellido

Jimmy López Bellido (trans. David Claudio)

General Info

Year: 2004 / 2011
Duration: c. 3:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Chamber ensemble
Publisher: Filharmonika Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts - $150   |   Score Only - $30


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
E-flat Clarinet I-II
B-flat Clarinet I-II
Bass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Horn I-IV
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass drum
  • Bongos
  • Crash cymbals
  • Congas

Program Notes

During recent years, eclecticism has become an important part of my musical language. The challenge of creating musically sensible interactions out of the juxtaposition of apparently incompatible musical sources -- some of which result in unexpected contrasts -- fascinates me. Fiesta! draws influences from several musical sources including: European academic compositional techniques, Latin-American music, Afro-Peruvian music and today’s pop music. It utilizes elaborate developmental techniques while keeping the primeval driving forces still latent in popular culture.

The fourth movement of Fiesta!, Techno, is the first piece where I have made explicit use of elements from popular culture, but it’s certainly not the first time it’s being done. Composers from the past, especially during the Baroque, would write suites that would consist of a series of dances with names such as allemande, gigue, sarabande, etc. These dances were very popular at European courts: the nobles would gather and dance to the accompaniment of a small instrumental ensemble in residence. Later, some composers decided to use these dances and make them more sophisticated. That was part of my intention when picking up the genres that I mentioned earlier. I believe they have enough potential to justify further development, but always keeping the primeval driving forces present in them.

This piece (originally scored for chamber ensemble) was commissioned by Miguel Harth-Bedoya to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Lima Philharmonic Society in 2007. The full orchestra version received its first performance in May 2008, under Miguel Harth-Bedoya and the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. This arrangement for wind orchestra has been made by David Claudio and was commissioned by Maritza Caceres.

- Program note from composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Texas Christian University (Fort Worth) Wind Symphony (Jake Hille, conductor) - 3 October 2019
  • Texas Christian University (Fort Worth) Wind Symphony (Eddie Airheart, conductor) - 18 October 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer