Symphony for Winds & Percussion

From Wind Repertory Project
Luigi Zaninelli

Luigi Zaninelli

General Info

Year: 2006
Duration: c. 14:10
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $180.00   |   Score Only (print) - $50.00


1. (Introduction) With intensity!
2. Theme & Dance Variations (theme)
3. Variation I – Tango
4. Variation II – Blues
5. Variation III – Square Dance


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Piano (optional)
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The first movement of Zaninelli's Symphony for Winds & Percussion is remarkable for its conciseness and brevity. In a very short "space in time" he creates a true sonata-allegro movement. The language is pure Zaninelli -- restless, tender, mysterious, muscular, gentle, and at all times captivating.

The second movement is a theme and variations. It begins with a theme presented by the solo flute. Three variations ensue -- a sexy tango, a sensuous blues, and a rousing barn dance. There is a genuine purity to Zaninelli's feel for these diverse dance forms. One senses that he has an intimate knowledge of these idioms.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by the Tara Winds and their conductor, David Gregory.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Kansas: V
  • Louisiana: V
  • North Carolina: VI
  • Texas: V. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works