Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphony for Band (Weber)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Joseph F. Weber

Joseph F. Weber (ed. Steven Paxton)

General Info

Year: 1956 / 1962 / 2018
Duration: c. 13:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Creative Spirit Music Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $100.00; (digital) - $80.00   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00; (digital) - $20.00


1. Prelude: Allegro
2. Molto moderato
3. Adagio - Allegro - Adagio


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (I div. a2)
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet (optional)
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III (I div. a2)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass (optional)
Timpani I-II
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Joseph Weber composed his Symphony for Band (also titled Symphony #1 for Band) in 1956 for Edwin C. Kruth and the San Francisco State College Symphonic Band, and revised it in 1962.

It is rhythmic and colorful, with hints of Bernard Herrmann film scores, but also foreshadows the patternistic, minimalist works of Terry Riley, La Monte Young, and other San Francisco composers with whom Weber was associated throughout the 1960s.

This performance edition was created by Steven Paxton for Creative Spirit’s Joseph Weber Archives series.

- Program Note by editor


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer