Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphony XVII (Hovhaness)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alan Hovhaness

Alan Hovhaness

Subtitle: Symphony for Metal Orchestra

This work bears the designation Opus 203.

General Info

Year: 1963
Duration: c. 23:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.F. Peters
Cost: Score and Parts – Rental   |   Score Only (print) - $40.00


1. Andante
2. Largo
3. Allegro
4. Adagio


Full Score
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Chimes
  • Glockenspiel
  • Tam-Tam
  • Vibraphone (2)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Subtitled Symphony for Metal Orchestra, Alan Hovhaness wrote his Symphony No. 17 in 1963 on a commission from the American Society of Metals. It is written for a special “metal band:” six flutes, tree trombones, and five metal percussion instruments.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • New England Conservatory (Boston, Mass.) Wind Ensemble (Charles Peltz, conductor) – 10 October 2017

Works for Winds by This Composer