Symphony V (Rudin)

From Wind Repertory Project
Rolf Rudin

Rolf Rudin

Subtitle: Psychograms

This work bears the designation Opus 88.

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 15:45
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: edition flor
Cost: Score and Parts - Contact Rolf Rudin


1. Wind in the Head (Wind im Kopf)
2. Freaky Butterfly (Irrer Falter)
3. Burning Tears (Heiße Tränen)
4. Dancing Moon (Tanzender Mond)


Full Score
C Piccolo I-II
Flute I-II (div.)
English Horn
Bassoon I-II-III
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV (div.)
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III (one player doubling Flugelhorn)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III-IV
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II (div.)
String Bass
Piano (Grand)
Percussion (4 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crotales
  • Field Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals (3: small, medium and large)
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tams (2: medium and large)
  • Temple Blocks (6)
  • Tom-toms (5)
  • Triangles (5)
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The work was intended for the dark timbre of sound of the Mannheim Philharmonic Wind Orchestra. It leads in four movements to the deepness of the human psyche. Thoughts are fluttering and severe or weightless states of consciousness are changing -- music about the colors of the soul … a work that gets under one’s skin …

- Program Note by composer

Written in 2014, Rudin’s work was commissioned by the Mannheimer Bläserphilharmonie (Mannheim Philharmonic Wind Orchestra) with support of the University Clinic in Mannheim/Germany. The premiere took place on March 8, 2015, at the Rosengarten Concert Hall in Mannheim.

- Program Note from WASBE


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer