Symphony V (Prokofiev)

From Wind Repertory Project
Sergei Prokofiev

Sergei Prokofiev (tr. R. Mark Rogers)

This work bears the designation Opus 100.

General Info

Year: 1944 / 2019
Duration: c. 43:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Keiser Southern Music, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $395.00   |   Score Only (print) - $75.00


1. Andante
2. Allegro Marcato
3. Adagio
4. Allegro Giocoso


Full Score
C Piccolo
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet (or B-flat Contrabass Clarinet)
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Written in a single summer month while World War II was still raging in 1944, Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 5 would become not only one of the composer’s most celebrated and performed works. It would stand among the giants in all of 20th century classical compositions. Cast in four movements, Prokofiev once gave a statement that he intended it as "a hymn to free and happy Man, to his mighty powers, his pure and noble spirit." He added, "I cannot say that I deliberately chose this theme. It was born in me and clamoured for expression. The music matured within me. It filled my soul."

Deliberate or not, his statement likely helped placate the Communist Soviet Party, who under Stalin ruthlessly, and often fatally, censored the art and music of the time.

This is the first complete band transcription of Prokofiev’s monumental work, by one of the world’s most respected wind band editors, Dr. R. Mark Rogers. The edition provides a rare opportunity in the symphonic wind band repertoire for ensembles to perform an orchestral masterpiece in its entirety.

- Program Note adapted from publisher


State Ratings

  • Alabama: AA


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Heart of Texas (San Antonio) Concert Band (R. Mark Rogers, conductor) - 21 November 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer