Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphony Nr. 1 for Wind Band (Nordhagen)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Stig Nordhagen

Stig Nordhagen

Subtitle: Solitude Standing

General Info

Year: 2008 / 2017
Duration: c. 22:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Norsk Noteservice as
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €244.64; (digital) - €244.64


1. Slow - Fast - Slow
2. Recitative: Slow - Fast


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II (both div. a2)
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cabasa
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Tam-tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-toms
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The two movements in this symphony have quite similar structure and length, and this is no coincidence. As a composer, I try to create two musical stories that comes from the same starting point and thought, but they sound and feel different. Music often describes something you can't say in words. This composer stands in the middle of the symphony, here personalized as trombone solo (or euphonium) and tries Solitude Standing to make a bridge between the two parts.

- Program Note by composer

Commissioned by the Musikkforeningen Nidarholm with support from Norsk Kulturråd.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Musikkforeningen Nidarholm (Trondheim, Norway) (Espen Andersen, conductor) – 28 March 2009 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer