Symphony No. 2 (Cesarini)

From Wind Repertory Project
Franco Cesarini

Franco Cesarini

Subtitle: Views of Edo

This work bears the designation Opus 54.

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 45:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Mitropa Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €674.00   |   Score Only (print) - €106.00


1. The Pagoda of Zojoji Temple
2. The City Flourishing
3. Temple Gardens at Nippori
4. Cherry Blossoms Along the Tama River
5. Senju Great Bridge


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bell Tree
  • Bells
  • Bongos
  • Chimes
  • Conga
  • Crotales
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals (2)
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone



None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Edo is the ancient name for the city of Tokyo. Inspired by a series of woodcuts by the artist Utagawa Hiroshige (1797-1858) entitled One Hundred Famous Views of Edo, Cesarini’s symphony is based upon a few traditional Japanese melodies. The composition is divided into five movements in arch form: a structure in which the individual sections are arranged symmetrically around a centre. Each movement takes its title from a print from the One Hundred Views.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by and dedicated to the "Civica Filarmonica di Lugano", with the support of the Swiss foundation for the culture "Pro Helvetia".

- Program Note from score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer