Symphony No. 1 (Saucedo)

From Wind Repertory Project
Richard Saucedo

Richard Saucedo

Subtitle: For Wind Orchestra

General Info

Year: 2007
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $150.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00
Individual movements are also available separately.


1. Frolicsome – 4:05
2. Heavy-Hearted - 3:55


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This symphony for winds is a tour de force of orchestral textures and rhythmic vitality. Movement 1 opens with a virtuosic display of solo statements followed by a layering of sounds and soaring melodies all leading to a dynamic finish. Creative instrument combinations characterize this unique and appealing work. In the second movement, short solos for piano, string bass, alto sax, clarinet, flute, oboe, euphonium, trombone, trumpet and horn are featured along with fresh harmonies and pulsating ostinatos.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned for the 2006-2007 Kennesaw Mountain High School Wind Symphony, Kennesaw Mountain, Georgia, David M. Starnes, director.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Minnesota: High School League Band Category I
  • Mississippi: Band Class 6A
  • South Carolina: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works