Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphony No. 1 (Paxton)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Steven Paxton

Steven Paxton

Subtitle: Variations on a Theme by R. Murray Schafer

General Info

Year: 2014
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Creative Spirit Music Publications
Cost: Score Only (print) - $5.00; (digital) - Free


1. Be silent for a long time, then make a sound
2. Let a sound grow out of the sounds you already hear, then sink back into the silence
3. Improvise to these words of painter Wassily Kandinsky
4. Repeat a word a dozen times

Instrumentation (Flexible)

Any combination and number of instruments.


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Steven Paxton’s Symphony #1 is an open-form composition for ensembles of any size, with any instruments, or with no instruments whatsoever. It draws freely upon, with respect and admiration, the work of composer, philosopher, acoustic ecologist R. Murray Schafer.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works