Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphony No. 1 (Mazone)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Tyler Mazone

Tyler Mazone

Subtitle: Through the Dark Times

General Info

Year: 2021
Duration: c. 23:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Tyler Mazone
Cost: Score and Parts ( (digital) - $140.00   |   Score Only (digital) - $30.00

Movement 3 may be purchased separately.


1. Elegy – 8:00
2. A Guide through Dreams – 6:30
3. Through the Dark Times – 8:30


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II (div.)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (div.)
B-flat Bass Clarinet (div.)
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
C Trumpet I-II-III
Flugelhorn I-II/C Trumpet IV-V
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium (div.)
Tuba (div.)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cabasa
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Symphony No. I: Through The Dark Times consists of three movements:

Elegy: A haunting dream of the past evokes feelings of loss and nostalgia, but there are hints of brighter times ahead…

A Guide Through Dreams: A guide, in the disguise of a recently acquainted friend, visits my dreams but there are many conflicting messages throughout. The dream swirls between these messages and different settings.

Through The Dark Times: The messages of the dream manifest in waking life with an internal struggle ensuing, but this ends with the feelings of pride and joy once the lessons have been learned and the dark times overcome. Inner peace with the situation is achieved!

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works