Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Symphony I (Alcalde)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Antón Alcalde

Antón Alcalde

Subtitle: Marea Negra (Black Tide)

This work bears the designation Opus 1.

General Info

Year: 2009
Duration: c. 22:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Aalcalde Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €180.00


1. Amencer nas Rías Baixas
2. Prestige
3. Marea Negra
4. Marea Blanca


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II (double Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion (5-8 players), including:

  • Anvil
  • Bass Drum (medium)
  • Bongos
  • Brake Drum
  • Claves
  • Conga
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Hi-Hat
  • Iron Plate (large)
  • Marimba
  • Mark Trees (2, glass and metallic)
  • Ship's Bell, large
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Crash Cymbal
  • Tai-gongs
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tin Can, large
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangles (3, piccolo, medium and large)
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Waterphone
  • Whip
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone

Choir (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This symphony is my first work catalogued (opus 1), wrote when I was just 15 years old. Therefore it is one of my most appreciated and immature works, but also one which have been most played around the world. The whole symphony follows a symphonic (poem) structure, divided in four movements that describe the natural catastrophe produced by Prestige oil spill.

The Prestige oil spill was an oil spill in Galicia caused by the sinking of the oil tanker MV Prestige in 2002. The spill polluted thousands of kilometers of coastline and more than one thousand beaches on the Spanish, French and Portuguese coast, as well as causing great harm to the local fishing industry. The spill is the largest environmental disaster in the history of both Spain and Portugal. In the subsequent months, thousands of volunteers joined the public company TRAGSA (the firm chosen by the regional government to deal with the cleanup) to help clean the affected coastline. The massive cleaning campaign was a success, recovering most portions of coastline from not only the effects of the oil spill but also the accumulated usual contamination. A year after the spill, Galicia had more Blue Flags for its beaches (an award for those beaches with the highest standards in the European Union) than in the previous years.

'This work won the first prize in the “II Galician Composition Contest for Wind Orchestra” (symphonic section), in 2009 and also was the mandatory work in the “IV Galician Bands Competition” (1st category), in 2010. It is dedicated to Andrés Valero-Castells.

- Program Note by composer


  • II Galician Composition Contest for Wind Orchestra (symphonic section), 2009, winner
  • Mandatory work in the IV Galician Bands Competition (1st category), 2010


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Sinfonisches Verbandsjugendorchester Ortenau (Germany) (Rüdiger Müller, conductor) – 29 October 2019 (Fredonia, N.Y.)
  • La Asociación Cultural Musical De Linares 1875 (Spain) (Francisco Infantes Ortíz, conductor) - 2017
  • Galician Federation of Wind Orchestras (Coruña, Spain) (X. Carlos Seráns, conductor) - 30 December 2009 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer