Symphonic Suite from "The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"

From Wind Repertory Project
Howard Shore

Howard Shore (arr. Victor Lopez)

General Info

Year: 2001 / 2002
Duration: c. 11:10
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts - $89.00


Full Score
C Piccolo (doubling optional Irish Whistle)
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Anvil
  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

With energy and excitement, Victor López has scored a dramatic collage of the tunes from Howard Shore's award-winning film score. The beautiful In Dreams melody is enhanced with a variety of the forceful themes. Relive the passion of the film with this spectacular arrangement.

The suite contains:

  • Prologue
  • The Black Rider
  • Concerning Hobbits
  • Bilbo
  • Departure of Boromir
  • At the Sign of the Prancing Pony
  • The Fellowship Theme
  • In Dreams
  • Three Is Company

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Perusal score
  • Shore, H.; Lopez, V. (2002). Symphonic Suite from the Lord of the Rings, the Fellowship of the Ring [score]. Warner Brothers: Miami, Fla.