Symphonic Paraphrase

From Wind Repertory Project
Elliot Del Borgo

Elliot Del Borgo

Subtitle: On It Is Well with My Soul

General Info

Year: 1995
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Publishing Company
Cost: Score and Parts - Out of Print.


Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Bongos
  • Cowbell
  • Claves
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-Toms
  • Vibraphone
  • Woodblock
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The commission for Symphonic Paraphrase is the result of an outpouring of love by family and friends for Robert "Robbie" King, a vital and enthusiastic eighteen-year-old who was tragically killed in a skiing accident in 1994. He was a devoted Christian whose love of music was second only to his love for his Lord. Members of his church often heard the mellow tones of Robbie's trumpet as he played his favorite hymn, It Is Well with My Soul. It is fitting that this beautiful melody is the focus of this memorial tribute to Robbie who has gone on to join the heavenly ranks of Gabriel's finest.

Philip P. Bliss (1838-1876), writer of the hymn tune, sent his family from their home in Europe to live in the "New World" of the Americas. During the voyage, the ship sank and all but Mrs. Bliss perished. Later, when Mr. Bliss emigrated to the Americas, he asked the captain to notify him when his ship came to the place where the ship on which his family had sailed was destroyed. He was awakened at that point, went on deck, and the hymn tune It Is Well Within My Soul came to him.

Commissioned for the W.F. West High School Band (Chehalis, Washington), Daniel F. Judd, director.

- Program Note from score


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Del Borgo, E. (1995). Symphonic Paraphrase [score]. Belwin-Mills: Miami, Fla.