Symphonic Movement (Holsinger)

From Wind Repertory Project
David Holsinger

David Holsinger

General Info

Year: 2001
Duration: c. 8:57
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: TRN Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $120.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Afro Crasher (ribbon crasher)
  • Bass Drum
  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-toms (3)
  • Triangles (3)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Unlike a number of David Holsinger's works, Symphonic Movement is not based on any programmatic or extramusical event, but is rather an exploration into a genre more akin to absolute music, where musical lines and rhythmic fragments are developed in formalistic order, elaborated, transformed and combined with other material to create the whole. In other words, music formally created to be simply ... music.

Symphonic Movement was commissioned by the Missouri Bandmasters Association for the 25th Anniversary of the Missouri All State Band. As a young band director who began his career in Missouri, Holsinger remembers that very first all-state band, and is very proud to have been asked to provide a piece de resistance for the 25th edition of this marvelous tradition.

-Program Note by publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer