Symphonic Dance I (Williams)

From Wind Repertory Project
Clifton Williams

Clifton Williams (trans. W. Francis McBeth)

Subtitle: Comanche Ritual

General Info

Year: 1965 / 2013
Duration: c. 5:20
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Maestro & Fox
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $67.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Guiro
  • Maracas
  • Temple Blocks (4)
  • Tom-tom
  • Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Symphonic Dance No. 1 , Comanche Ritual, is one of a group of five originally commissioned by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation commemorating the twenty-fifth anniversary of the San Antonio Symphony Orchestra which first performed the entire set of dances on January 30, 1965, under the baton of the composer.

Williams transcribed Dances 2, "The Maskers," 3, "Fiesta," and 5, "New Generation," for symphonic band, although only 2 and 3 were published initially. Each dance represents a culture which at a given historical time occupied the San Antonio area. The fierce Comanches, who had driven the Apaches from the High Plains, were themselves defeated by the Texas Rangers after the "Council House Fight" in San Antonio in March of 1840.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works