Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Susanna and the Elders

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jesse Ayers

Jesse Ayers

General Info

Year: 1978
Duration: 35:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Jesse Ayers
Cost: Contact composer   Contact Page


  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • Percussion (1 player, multiple instruments)
  • Narrator (optional)
  • Mezzo soprano (optional, used on one number only)
  • Dancers (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A 35-minute theater piece based on the story of the same name from the Apocrypha. The work is modeled loosely on Stravinsky's L'Histoire du Soldat (which the composer has performed under Robert Craft).

It is scored for 3 Bb clarinets, 1 bass clarinet, and 1 percussionist playing a modest "multiple" setup. There are eight dances, or tableaus, with the mezzo soprano being included only on the sixth dance at the crux of the conflict.

Most, if not all, of the eight dances are suitable to be performed alone.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


None discovered thus far.

Works for Winds by This Composer