Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Suite in D for Ten Winds

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Arthur Bird

Arthur Bird

This work bears the designation Opus 29.

General Info

Year: 1889 / 1991
Duration: c. 26:29
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Margun Music
Cost: Score and Parts - €31.20


1. Allegro Moderato - 11:28
2. Andante Moderato - 3:36
3. Allegretto Quasi Allegro - 3:46
4. Allergo con Fuoco - 7:39


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
Horn in F I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Arthur Bird's Suite in D for ten winds, an unnumbered opus in four movements, (Allegro moderato, Andante moderato, Allegretto quasi allegro, and Allegro con fuoco) was commissioned by the flautist Claude Paul Taffenel, conductor for the Opera and the Conservatory Concerts in Paris, for his Society of Wind Instruments. It was composed in mid-1889, following Bird's Opus 28. The Musical Courier announced on 30th October 1889 that, "Mr. Arthur Bird, the American Bizet ... has just finished (the) suite," and it was available in autograph by correspondence with the composer through the magazine.

Its first American performance did not occur until 10 February 1908, when the Longy Club presented it in Boston at the end of a programme that included A. Magnard's Quintet, Op. 8, and Mozart's Trio for Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon. Harvard composer Edward Burlingame Hill noted:

"This suite is a pleasing and melodious composition. It is coherent and well-developed in form. It lies easily within the range of the instruments, and displays no little knowledge of their resources. Moreover, its musical sentiment is pleasing and fluent throughout. It pleases by virtue of the simplicity, directness and unaffected manner in which the musical thought is unfolded."

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Peabody (Baltimore, Md.) Wind Ensemble (Harland D. Parker, conductor) - 8 November 2022
  • University of South Carolina (Columbia) Wind Ensemble (Cormac Cannon, conductor) - 23 October 2022
  • Western Illinois University (Macomb) Wind Ensemble (Mike Fansler, conductor) - 26 September 2020
  • Unnamed Ithaca College group (Matt Sadowski, conductor) - 23 March 2014

Works for Winds by This Composer