Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Suite No 14

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Béla Bartók

Béla Bartók

General Info

Year: 1916 /
Duration: c. 9:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: Manuscript
Cost: Score and Parts – Unknown


1. Allegretto - 2:15
2. Scherzo – 2:00
3. Allegro Molto – 2:20
4. Sostenuto – 4:25


Clarinet quartet


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

When this suite was composed, I had in mind the refining of the piano technique, the changing of piano technique into a more transparent style, a style of more of bone and muscles, opposing the heavy chordal style of the later romantic period, i.e., unessential elements like the broken chords and other figures are omitted and it is a simpler style.

- Program Note by composer

Starting from a moderately fast dance-like beginning, the composition accelerates as movement succeeds movement and becomes more personal and wild until, at the height of the chase, it abruptly reverts – in the last movement – into slow music expressing solitude.

- Program Note from liner notes for Dunelm Records Introducing Eva Kára, Piano


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


None discovered thus far.