String Quartet in F

From Wind Repertory Project
Maurice Ravel

Maurice Ravel (arr. Primatic)

Subtitle: Mvt 2 – Assez vif, Très rythmé

General Info

Year: 1902-3 / 2013
Duration: c. 6:25
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: String Quartet
Publisher: Tapspace Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $40.00


Full Score
Percussion (7 players), including:

  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba I-II-III-IV
  • Xylophone
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Maurice Ravel's String Quartet in F Major is a staple of string quartet literature. Its highly rhythmic second movement translates well to mallet percussion, as is evidenced by Primatic's excellent arrangement that expertly captures the nuance and color of the original string quartet. In this mallet septet, the woods effectively emulate the opening pizzicato statements, while the lyrical passages are well matched to the metallic, sustaining instruments.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Missouri: Percussion. Ensemble. Grade A
  • Texas: Percussion Ensemble Class 1


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer