Steeley Pause

From Wind Repertory Project
Jennifer Higdon

Jennifer Higdon

General Info

Year: 1988
Duration: c. 4:20
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Lawdon Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $10.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The title of this piece first came to me while I was thinking about creating intensity in music and about the challenge of writing a piece that is full of tension. "Steeley" is from the metal steel, which implies intensity. "Pause" carries two meanings in the context of the piece. In the first, it represents the moments of silence in the piece, which, because of all the musical activity occurring around them, are within themselves intense. And secondly, "Pause" means to take a moment, which is about the duration of this work, since the longer intensity goes on, the less intense it becomes.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Minnesota (Minneapolis) University Wind Ensemble (Emily Thrienen, conductor) - 25 March 2021
  • Emissary Quartet – 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Higdon, J. (1988). Steeley Pause: : [for] 4 C Flutes [score]. Lawdon Press: Philadelphia, Pess.
  • Jennifer Higdon website Accessed 23 March 2021