Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Brent Heisinger

Brent Heisinger

General Info

Year: 1971
Duration: c. 9:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Shawnee Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V:

  • Anvil
  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos (2)
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Blocks (3)
  • Tenor Drum
  • Timbales (3)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Blocks (2)
  • Xylophone

Players shouting


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Premiered in 1971 at the convention of the California Band Directors Association.

- Program Note from publisher

In 1969 and 1970, my office at San José State University faced the area which was the popular location for student rallies. At that time the country was in social turmoil over very serious issues -- the Vietnam war, the problems of Chicano farm workers, women’s liberation, Black power, the population explosion, the destruction of our environment, to name a few -- and the gatherings served as a forum for angry individuals expressing their views and venting their indignation. All of us on campus were surrounded with rage, hatred, distrust and instability.

Statement is a musical/dramatic discourse representing that scenario. Dissonance, shouting, and the singing of Gregorian chant are called for in an intense format representing humankind’s cycle of peace and war.

The work was commissioned by the California Band Directors Association for the California Symphonic Honor Band. Following the premier, conductor Harold Arnoldi commented “Statement is one of the finest pieces of contemporary band literature written today. It reflects the turmoil of present-day society.”

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Brent Heisinger website Accessed 22 February 2020
  • Girsberger, Russ. Percussion Assignments for Band & Wind Ensemble. Volume I: A-K. Galesburg, MD: Meredith Music Publications, 2004, 146. Print.
  • Heisinger, B. (1971). Statement [score] Shawnee Press: Delaware Water Gap, Penn.