Star Wars Saga (arr Meij)

From Wind Repertory Project
John Williams

John Williams (arr. Johan de Meij)

Subtitle: Music from Star Wars and The Empire Strikes Back

General Info

Year: 1987
Duration: c. 12:55
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Molenaar Edition
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print


Full Score
C Piccolo (optional doubling Flute III)
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon (div.)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium (div.)
Tuba (div.)
String Bass
Keyboard/Piano Synthesizer
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bell Tree
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A perfect arrangement of the brilliant film music of John Williams. It includes the Star Wars Theme, the Imperial March, Yoda and Princess Leia's Themes and May the Force Be with You. Mr. Meij was not prepared for any cheap compromise in his arrangement, and so the inventiveness of John Williams has been adhered to, with the result that a certain degree of musicianship and technique is called for.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Perusal score
  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 649.
  • Williams, J.; Meij, J. (1987). Star Wars Saga : Music from "Star Wars" and "The Empire Strikes Back" [score]. Molenaar: Wormerveer, Netherlands.