Stag Party, A

From Wind Repertory Project
John Philip Sousa

John Philip Sousa

General Info

Year: c. 1885
Duration: c. 8:10
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manuscript
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Condensed Score
D-flat Piccolo
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
E-flat Cornet
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II
B-flat Flugelhorn I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn or Alto in E-flat I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
B-flat Baritone
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In the absence of Sousa's manuscript, there is confusion concerning the date of this composition. It was written while he was conductor of the U.S. Marine Band and was later used occasionally by the Sousa Band between 1892 and 1896. One 1896 program at Manhattan Beach gave the date as 1885, but band parts in the Sousa Band library at the University of Illinois are dated 1890 by the Marine Band copyists.

The piece features sound effects and is descriptive of a gay part of students on a night out, singing familiar refrains. The 1893 program gives a synopsis, as follows:

The good night to the ladies – Twelve o'clock – Around the festive board – The gentlemen persist in singing a well known air in a minor key – A Young man, evidently engaged, softly sings Drive to Me Only with Thine Eyes. As the fair one is not present, she is unable to grant the request. A member of the trombone family tells about a man in a cellar. The gentleman with the phenomenal bass voice continues the narrative – Moments of general hilarity follow – A Rhinelander hums a tune he loves. An American think 'Home Sweet Home' will fit the same harmony. A Scotsman chimes in with Comin' Thro' the Rye, bagpipe and al, which the representatives of the Clover Club insist that there is 'One More Bottle' – The guests join hands and sing Auld Lang Syne – They are interrupted by a still, small voice – A convivial scion of the bassoon family murmurs something about someone being his sweetheart – The guests announce their departure – The rolling home in the morning – A sleepy parent requests them 'not to make a noise or else they'll wake the baby.' They comply.

- Program Note from John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Spring Garden Band of York (Penn.) (Jeffrey Shaull, conductor) - 6 August 2023
  • Virginia Grand Military Band (Alexandria) (Loras John Schissel, conductor) – 20 January 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Bierley, P. (1973). John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works. University of Illinois Press; Urbana, pp. 114.
  • Sousa, John P. The Stag Party. , 1885. Musical score.