Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Spring Divertimento

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Timothy Mahr

Timothy Mahr

General Info

Year: 1992
Duration: c. 10:15
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Neil A. Kjos Music Company
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $85.00   |   Score Only (print) - $9.00


1. Fanfare
2. Hymn
3. Scherzo
4. Serenade
5. Dance
6. Flourish


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Acme Siren
  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Spring Divertimento was written as a tribute to the great composers Vincent Persichetti and Leonard Bernstein. It is a six-movement composition with an overall lightness to be a pleasant diversion. The opening Fanfare is showy and dramatic and in contrast to the tranquil Hymn movement. Frivolity returns with a solo trumpet playing above a rhythmic background in the Scherzo movement.

The rhythm of the third movement shifts to a nostalgic waltz before returning to the light trumpet melody. A calm Serenade is introduced by the alto saxophone. The piano runs, like a babbling brook, through the Dance movement as clusters of chords reflect the bright colors of springtime. Flourish is an appropriate title for the last movement as bell tones from the brass grow in harmony and structure until the final proclamation of the full ensemble.

- Program Note from Foothill Symphonic Winds concert program, 11 June 2017


State Ratings

  • South Carolina: V
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Foothill Symphonic Winds (Palo Alto, Calif.) (David Bruce Adams, conductor) – 11 June 2017

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Mahr, T. (1997). Spring Divertimento [score]. Neil A. Kjos Music: San Diego, Calif.