Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Spectral Shifts

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Mark E. Wolfram

Mark Wolfram

Subtitle: For Clarinet Trio and Band

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 14:30
Difficulty: VI (trio)/V (band) (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Sound Studio Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $150.00


1. On Solar Wind - 3:20
2. Through a Nebula - 3:17
3. Comet Tails - 2:37
4. Finale - 4:48


Full Score
Solo E-flat Soprano Clarinet
Solo B-flat Soprano Clarinet
Solo B-flat Bass Clarinet
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Spectral Shifts by Mark Wolfram is an original composition in four movements for clarinet trio (E-flat soprano clarinet, B-flat clarinet and B-flat bass clarinet) and concert band. The first three movements feature each of the clarinets in a solo setting with band, culminating with the fourth movement where the full clarinet trio is accompanied by the band.

The title of the work refers to the astral phenomenon of spectral shift - blue shift (objects moving closer to us), red shift (objects moving away from us) and doppler shift (objects moving past us - similar to red shift) as well as other astral and solar phenomena. The composition seamlessly moves between serial and traditional tertian and quartal harmonic structures, providing performers and listeners with refreshing aural "shifts" in both timbre and tonality.

The work was written for the Ironwood Clarinet Trio, Prof. Marcellus Brown and the Boise State University Symphonic Winds. It was given its world premiere at the 81st Annual American Bandmasters Association convention on Thursday, March 5th, 2015 in Reno. Nev.

Spectral Shifts highlights angular melodies, colorful sonorities, tertian, quartal and serial composition in an exciting blend which is both intellectually satisfying and aesthetically pleasing.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.