Sounds, Sketches, and Ideas

From Wind Repertory Project
Roger Cichy

Roger Cichy

General Info

Year: 2002
Duration: c. 10:40
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $130.00   |   Score Only (print) - $45.00


1. Daybreak – 2:30
2. Escape of the Gypsies – 2:30
3. Funky MonKey – 2:15
4. March of the Broken Toys – 3:20


Full Score
Flute I-II (I doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Spoons (large)
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Toy Cymbals
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibra-slap
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Sounds, Sketches and Ideas is a unique work in which composer Roger Cichy and daughter Rebecca have collaborated for the first time on a musical composition for wind ensemble. Having a child show signs of musical creativity has been something Roger Cichy has not taken lightly. His daughter, Rebecca, now 12 years of age, was born into a musical family and started her musical training at a very early age. By age six, she began creating her own melodies. This situation presented Roger Cichy with a unique opportunity of having his daughter create the melodic framework for a composition and for him to complete the work based on her melodic material. Several of her earlier melodies used as well as new material she created specifically for this work.

The opening movement, Daybreak, uses a very plain but meditative melody. "Since Rebecca created it several years ago, this melody has been bouncing around in my head," comments Roger Cichy. "Each time, I've superimposed it in my head with a slightly different instrumentation and thought it would be fun to actually score one of these versions." This melody in particular inspired Roger Cichy to consider the idea of using his daughter's melodies to create an entire musical work.

The melody for Escape of the Gypsies was created at the request of Rebecca's violin teacher to exhibit her capabilities of composing melodies. Roger Cichy was able to end this movement with a paraphrase of Rebecca's first composed melody, Princess Dance, created at age six.

Funky Monkey uses the first melody actually composed specifically for this work. Roger Cichy took some liberties and transformed the original melody into a swing style from the straight rhythms that Rebecca created. When Rebecca heard a computer playback of the middle section of the movement, she was surprised that it turned into something "really funky;' hence the mutually agreeable title, Funky Monkey.

The final movement, March of the Broken Toys, again contains melodic material created specifically for the work. Rebecca created several folk-like melodies for this movement, and since she had been studying Bartok violin duets, Roger Cichy chose to apply a quasi-Bartok treatment to the melodies.

Sounds, Sketches and Ideas was commissioned by the University of St. Thomas Wind Ensemble under the baton of Dr. Matthew J. George, Director of Bands.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Ouachita Baptist University (Arkadelphia, Ark.) Wind Ensemble (Craig V. Hamilton, conductor) - 6 March 2023
  • University of Rhode Island (Kingston) Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Roger Cichy, conductor) - 24 October 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer