Sound Prisms

From Wind Repertory Project
Brian Balmages

Brian Balmages

General Info

Year: 2002
Duration: c. 4:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: FJH Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $90.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Brake Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangles (2)
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This exciting new fanfare combines traditional harmonies with splashes of mild and harsh dissonance, especially in the woodwind voices, in a driving 6/8 panorama of sound. The patterns and phrases are heard echoing throughout the full ensemble in an avalanche of changing timbres that crashes together in a powerful memorable conclusion.

- Program Note from publisher

Sound Prisms is based on reflections and compositions of sound. Very often, a sound or phrase will be heard echoing throughout the ensemble while changing timbre. These phrases are continually put together and taken apart as the work progresses. The piece is also intended to represent the open space in which sound can reflect for long periods of time. This idea of spatial openness is first presented by a saxophone quartet – the first time rhythm is not vital to the piece. The musical effect of open space is created for the trombones and horns to echo each other. From this point, the piece begins to build as several melodic ideas reconstruct and eventually present themselves simultaneously.

- Program Note by composer

For the Georgia Tech Symphonic Band, Dr. Andrea Strauss, Director.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Kansas: IV
  • Louisiana: IV
  • Texas: IV. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Balmages, B. (2002). Sound Prisms [score]. FJH Music Co.: Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
  • Brian Balmages website Accessed 15 September 2020