Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Sound Off (arr Bourgeois)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
John Philip Sousa

John Philip Sousa (ed. John R. Bourgeois)

General Info

Year: 1885 / 2005
Duration: c. 2:50
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Wingert-Jones, though Excelcia
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00; (digital) - $60.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute I
Flute II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

As leader of the U.S. Marine Band, Sousa came under the command of Major George Porter Houston. In Sousa's eyes, Houston was a stern but fair officer, and this march was dedicated to him. As in the case of Guide Right, Right Forward and Right-Left, the title was derived from a marching command. For the U.S. Marines, the term "sound off" refers to this specific segment of the official Marine Corps Drill and Ceremonies Manual and is mean to apply to formal drill ceremonies involving the band:

Adjutant commands 'Parade REST' and 'SOUND OFF.' The battalion except for the commander of troops, the staff and adjutant go to parade rest.

The band sounds off, marches down the line of troops, countermarches, marches back down the line of troops and returns to its position in the formation.

- Program Note from John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works

This edition of Sound Off is dedicated to Toshio Akiyama.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Bierley, P. (1973). John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works. University of Illinois Press; Urbana, pp. 70-71
  • Sousa, J.; Bourgeois, J. (2005). Sound Off: For Concert Band [score]. Wingert-Jones Music: Kansas City, Mo.