Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Solo Una Volta!

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Yasuhide Ito

Yasuhide Ito

The title translates as "Only Once!"

General Info

Year: 2007 / 2013
Duration: c. 1:30
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $60.00   |   Score Only - $6.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II-III
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II (or Alto Clarinet)
E-flat Baritone Saxophone (or Bass Clarinet)
B-flat Trumpet, 3+ performers
Horn in F, 2+ performers
Trombone, 3+ performers
Euphonium, 3+ performers
Tuba (or Contrabass Clarinet, String Bass)
Piano (optional)
Harp (optional)
Celesta (optional)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Castanets
  • Flexatone
  • Klaxon
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Wood Block


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Solo Una Volta (Only Once!) is a rollicking galop, which in a brief two minutes flashes the spotlight on every section of the ensemble. According to Ito, it was written because during the week prior to a concert of the Senzoku Gakuen College of Music Freshman Wind Ensemble in June 2007, he "felt something was missing from the encore selections and decided to compose this march ." Since at that time he had a large number of players in the oboe and euphonium sections, he chose to write many of the thematic statements "divisi a tre" in the [text obscured] other sections of the band as well. Ito decided on the title because he assumed that this piece, so tailored for a single concert, would only be played once [text obscured] energy and audience appeal quickly proved him wrong, as the piece has been a longstanding encore favorite of the band.

- Program Note by the Louisville Concert Band concert program, 19 December 2013


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


[Category: Marches]]