Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Steven Bryant

Steven Bryant

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 13:00
Difficulty: V
Publisher: Steven Bryant
Cost: Parts Only Rental - $350.00   |   Score Only Purchase - $50.00


Flute I (dbl. Picc) I-II-III
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
Clarinet in Bb I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Alto Saxophone I (dbls. Sop.)-II
Tenor Saxophone
Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
Keyboard (triggers electronics)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Suspended Cymbals
  • Tam-tam
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Solace is an introspective work, constructed entirely from a single nine-tone row. Scored for standard wind ensemble plus electronics, the work seamlessly augments the timbre and power of the band by using and transforming recordings of individual players from within the group.

Commissioning consortium: University of North Carolina Greensboro, John Locke and Kevin Geraldi (lead commissioner) Baylor University, Eric Wilson Bowling Green University, Bruce Moss Furman University, Leslie Hicken Harrison High School, Kennesaw, GA, David Vandewalker Illinois State University, Stephen Steele Indiana University, Stephen Pratt Kennesaw State University, David Kehler Shenandoah Conservatory, Damon Talley SUNY Potsdam Crane School, Brian Doyle Texas Tech University, Sarah McKoin University of Kansas, Paul Popiel University of Miami, Gary Green University of New Mexico, Eric Rombach-Kendall


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Eastman School of Music (Rochester, N.Y.) Wind Orchestra (Kevin Holzman, conductor) -17 April 2017
  • University of Texas (Austin) Wind Symphony (Scott Hanna, conductor) – 16 November 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works