Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Snake in the Garden

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Paul Richards (transcribed by the composer)

Paul Richards

General Info

Year: 2004
Original Format: Orchestra Duration: c. 12:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Paul Richards - Official Website
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown   |  Score Only - Unknown


Full Score
Solo B-flat Soprano Clarinet
Flute I-II (II doubles piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Soprano Saxophone
Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Snake in the Garden is a loose rendering of the tale of the expulsion from the Garden of Eden. The solo clarinet intrudes with dissonant material upon an idyllic opening by the orchestra, tempting the ensemble into an extended dance. The creator’s wrath is heard twice: the first time followed by a brief, seductive cadenza; the second time leading to a return of the opening material, where the dissonant music of the solo clarinet is integrated into the idyllic garden music.

-Program Note by Paul Richards


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.