Sleigh Ride, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (arr. Patrick Dunnigan)

Subtitle: From Three German Dances, K. 605

General Info

Year: 1791 / 1998
Duration: c. 2:30
Original Medium: Orchestra
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: TRN Music Publisher
Cost: Score and Parts - $60.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Sleigh Ride was composed in 1791 (dated February 12) as part of the Three German Dances (K. 605) for chamber orchestra. The original score consists of two sections in standard minuet and trio form of the Classical period followed by an extended coda section. Specifically, Mozart entitled the trio section as "the sleighride" (Die Schlittenfarht) but the entire work is commonly referenced by this designation. Its programmatic nature and lively rhythms make it an excellent selection for winter concerts.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Virginia: 3


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works