Sixth Symphony (Barnes)

From Wind Repertory Project
James Barnes

James Barnes

This work bears the designation Opus 130.

General Info

Year: 2008 / 2011
Duration: c. 24:10
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Keiser Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $295.00   |   Score Only (print) - $59.95


1. Andante, ma non troppo – 11:05
2. Adagio – 6:03
3. Allegro energico – 7:02


  • Full Score
  • C Piccolo
  • Flute I-II-III
  • Oboe I-II
  • Bassoon I-II
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
  • B-flat Contrabass Clarinet (optional)
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
  • Horn I-II-III-IV
  • Trombone I-II-III
  • Euphonium (div.)
  • Tuba (div.)
  • String Bass
  • Timpani
  • Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:
*Bass Drum
*Crash Cymbal
*Crotales (optional)
*Metal Wind Chimes
*Sleigh Bells
*Snare Drum
*Suspended Cymbal
*Tubular Bells


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This symphony, commissioned by and dedicated to Roy Holder and his wonderful Lake Braddock High School Band, is both shorter and simpler to play than the composer's other symphonies, but it loses nothing in terms of integrity or profundity.

The first movement, Andante, ma non troppo, casts a brooding mood in the somber key of D minor, the second movement, Adagio is lyrical, while the final movement, Allegro energico, begins powerfully before moving to a dreamy, ghost-like middle section before finally returning to the initial material.

- Program Note by publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Lake Braddock High School (Burke, Va.) Band (Roy Holder, conductor) - 4 June 2008 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works