Sinfonia Voci

From Wind Repertory Project
David Holsinger

David Holsinger

Subtitle: I Sing the Mighty Power of God

General Info

Year: 1993
Duration: c. 6:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: TRN
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $125.00   |   Score Only (print) - $12.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chime
  • Xylophone

SATB Choir


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Subtitled I Sing the Mighty Power of God, this large-scale work for chorus and band is well suited for mass or amateur choir, in that the vocal lines are broad and hymn-like at all times. The wind and percussion parts carry the rhythmic energy of the composition and can be performed separately, without the chorus, if desired.

- Program Note from publisher

In the mid-afternoon of August 28, 1990, a massive tornado swept through the center of Plainfield, Illinois, a community some 30 miles southwest of Chicago. This massive storm scythed a five-mile-long path, causing millions of dollars in damages and the deaths of 29 residents of the city. Plainfield High School was one of the building areas totally destroyed.

In the fall of 1992, the Plainfield High School Band Boosters commissioned Holsinger to write a commemorative work for the high school symphonic band and civic chorus made up of many of the church choirs of the community. In the spring of 1993, after many years of relocation in Joliet, Plainfield High School returned to its community, and in a dedication service, The Plainfield Band and Civic Chorus under the direction of Scott Casagrande premiered the Sinfonia Voci.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.

  • Alabama: Class A
  • Tennessee: VI
  • Virginia: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • David Holsinger website Accessed 29 August 2021
  • Holsinger, D.; Watts, I. (1993). Sinfonia voci: based on the 1784 Wuettenburg Gesangbuch melody with text by Issac Watts : I sing the mighty power of God [score]. TRN: Ruidoso, N.M.