Sinfonia VI: The Four Elements

From Wind Repertory Project
Timothy Broege

Timothy Broege

Subtitle: Earth, Wind, Fire, Water

General Info

Year: c. 1982
Duration: c. 5:45
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manhattan Beach Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $95.00   |   Score Only - $15.00


1. Wind
2. Earth
3. Water
4. Fire


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bells
  • Cymbal (suspended)
  • Snare Drum
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Timpani
  • Tom-Toms (low)


  • All, mvt. 2, m.3, beat 3: Should have an accent mark instead of a staccato dot. 
  • Baritone, m.11, beat 4: Should be accented, not staccato.

Program Notes

Sinfonia VI: The Four Elements presents listeners with a sonic representation of the elements. In the first movement, three solo clarinets take on the role of “Wind”. In movement two, the hearty solo baritone portrays “Earth”. In movement three, the solo alto saxophone and trumpet trade off parts fluidly, portraying “Water”. Finally, the sinfonia ends in movement four, “Fire”, a rousing movement featuring percussion.

- Program Note by Warren Walker for the University of Georgia Hodgson Concert Band concert program, 26 February 2018



State Ratings

Texas: III


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Broege, T. (c. 1982). Sinfonia VI: The Four Elements [score]. Manhattan Beach Music: Brooklyn, N.Y.
  • Manhattan Beach Website
  • Miles, Richard B. 2000. Teaching Music Through Performance in Band. Volume 3. Chicago: GIA Publications. pp. 189-192.