Siegfried's Funeral March

From Wind Repertory Project
Richard Wagner

Richard Wagner (trans. Andy Tanick)

Subtitle: from Tannhauser

General Info

Year: 1876 /
Duration: c. 8:45
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Manuscript
Cost: Score and Parts – Free. Contact Andy Tanick


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Crash Cymbals
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Siegfried’s Death was the original title of the prose sketch for an opera that grew, over the span of twenty-eight years, into the most monumental undertaking in the history of music -- the four-opera cycle -The Ring of the Nibelungen. The murder of the young hero Siegfried was Wagner’s starting point, and it remains the climax of the full seventeen-hour work.

- Program Note from Chicago Symphony Orchestra concert program, June 2013

Siegfried's Funeral March is taken from Act Three after he has been murdered by Hagen. It is made up of musical motives from previous operas that tell of Siegfried's background, including the Volsung theme, Siegmund and Sieglinde's theme, the Sword, Brünnhilde's love theme and the curse of the Ring.

- Program Note by Iain Farrington


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Nebraska Kearney Wind Ensemble (Duane Bierman, conductor) – 12 April 2018
  • Grand Symphonic Winds - 1998, 2013, 2014
  • University of Minnesota Wind Ensemble - 1986

Works for Winds by This Composer