Shepherd's Hey (arr De Stefano)

From Wind Repertory Project
Percy Aldridge Grainger

Percy Aldridge Grainger (arr. De Stefano)

General Info

Year: 1918 / 2012
Duration: c. 1:15
Difficulty: I (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: FJH Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $40.00   |   Score Only - $5.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet
Horn in F
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Bells
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Using only six notes, this arrangement of Shepherd's Hey retains the wonderful character of Grainger's setting while staying accessible to even the least experienced of students. The light style and energy of the piece makes this an exciting selection for your next concert program.

- Program Note from publisher

The air on which Shepherd’s Hey is based was collected by Cecil J. Sharpe. In some agricultural districts in England, teams of "Morris Men" decked out with jingling bells and other finery can still be seen dancing to such traditional tunes as Shepherd’s Hey, which are played on the fiddle or on the’pipe and tabor’(a sort of fife and drum).

- Program Note from Lockport Township High School Wind Symphony concert program, 18 December 2013


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


None discovered thus far.