Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Sharagan and Fugue

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alan Hovhaness

Alan Hovhaness (arr. Thomas J. Huelsmann)

General Info

Year: 1950 / 2007
Duration: c. 6:30
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Brass Ensemble
Publisher: Alliance Publications
Cost: Score & Parts - $100.00   |   Score Only - $15.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion, I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The sharagan is a type of monodic hymn or chant of the Armenian Orthodox Church. It is modal with unusual and stunning modulations and long arcing phrases. The fugue begins with extended, sweeping statements and is a joyous treat for the entire ensemble.

- Program Note by Thomas J. Huelsmann


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Buffalo (N.Y.) Wind Ensemble (Kyle Resnick, conductor) - 19 April 2023

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Hovhaness, A.; Huelsmann, T. (2008). Sharagan and Fugue [score]. Alliance Publications: Fish Creek, Wisc.