Seventh Suite for Band

From Wind Repertory Project
Alfred Reed

Alfred Reed

Subtitle: A Century of Flight

General Info

Year: 2002
Duration: c. 7:55
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Edward B. Marks , through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $145.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


1. Prologue: Look to the Skies! – 2:30
2. Intermezzo: The Winds and Waves of Wajima – 3:50
3. March: To Fly With the Wings of Eagles – 2:35


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Wind Machine
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


In parts:

  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone, mvt.2, m.28: 2nd note should be D, not C
  • Horn in F II, mvt.2, m.28: 3rd note should be G, not A-flat
  • Chimes, mvt.1, m.37: 4th note should be G, not B-flat

Program Notes

Since the year 2003 is also the centenary of the Wright brothers' first flights, this work commemorates "A Century of Flight" as well.

Seventh Suite for Band was commissioned for the 2003 opening of the new Noto Airport in Wajima, Japan.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • North Carolina: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Reed, A. (2002). Seventh Suite for Band: A Century of Flight. Hal Leonard: Milwaukee, Wisc.