Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Seven Hills Overture

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
John Fannin

John Fannin

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 5:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $80.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Snare Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Bells
  • Bongos
  • Chimes
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Seven Hills Overture is an exciting fanfare that utilizes shifting meters to create a light, happy groove. A lyrical interlude provides an opportunity for ensembles to explore rubato playing. The title is inspired by the seven hills that surround Bowling Green, Kentucky.

Commissioned by the Kentucky Music Educators Third District for the 2013 Ninth and Tenth Grade District Honor Band, the premier performance in Bowling Green, Kentucky, was conducted by the composer.

- Program Note from score

Seven Hills Overture by John Fannin begins with a festive brass and saxophone fanfare marked “Allegro,” but soon the piece goes through frequent meter shifts, establishing a light and effervescent dance-like quality. A complementary middle section, marked “Andante moderato,” is more legato cantabile, alternates between woodwind and brass choirs, and features flute and euphonium solos. A return of the opening material leads to a satisfying finale.

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • The Instrumentalist, Vol. 69, No. 2 (September 2014), p. 38.