Seeker's Scherzo

From Wind Repertory Project
Zhou Tian

Zhou Tian (arr. by composer)

General Info

Year: 2016 / 2019
Duration: 3:18
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Zhou Tian Music
Cost: Score and Parts - Rental   |   Score Only (print) - $45.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion (4 players), including:

  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Seeker’s Scherzo is a brisk, three-minute ride -- it borrows from the classical form while adding new turns and twists, constantly seeking different colors and timbre. Originally a third movement from my "Concerto for Orchestra," this new version has been thoroughly re-orchestrated from my original short score to ensure an optimal “fit and finish” for the large wind ensemble. It is scored lushly and mostly tonally, and almost every instrument is treated soloistically. Behind the power and edginess, there is an unmistakable sense of romanticism in the music.

My deep gratitude goes to Scott Anthony Jones, director of Texas A&M University-Kingsville Wind Symphony, for leading a commissioning consortium that included Ohio University Wind Symphony (Andrew Trachsel), Bowling Green State University Wind Symphony (Kenneth Thompson), Eastern New Mexico University Wind Symphony (Dustin Seifert), University of Nebraska–Lincoln Wind Ensemble (Carolyn Barber), Arkansas Tech University Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Daniel Belongia), New Jersey Wind Symphony (Christian Wilhjelm), and Fillmore Wind Band (Jim Daughters).

- Program note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Miami (Fla.) Frost Wind Ensemble (Robert Carnachan, conductor) - 12 November 2023
  • Baylor University (Waco, Tx.) Wind Ensemble (Isiah Odajima, conductor) – 31 March 2022 (CBDNA 2022 Southwestern Conference, Waco, Tx.)
  • Whitworth University (Spokane, Wash.) Wind Symphony (Richard Strauch, conductor) – 17 March 2022 (CBDNA 2022 Western/Northwestern Conference, Tacoma, Wash.)
  • University of Nebraska (Lincoln) Wind Ensemble (Carolyn Barber, conductor) - 1 December 2021
  • University of Texas (Austin) Wind Symphony (Ryan Kelly, conductor) - 22 September 2021
  • Michigan State University (East Lansing) Symphony Band (Arris Golden, conductor) – 21 February 2020 (CBDNA 2020 North Central Division Conference, Chicago, Ill.)
  • Michigan State University (East Lansing) Symphony Band (Rebekah Daniel, conductor) – 4 February 2020
  • Bowling Green (Ohio) State University Wind Symphony (Ken Thompson, conductor) – 21 November 2019
  • Michigan State University (East Lansing) Wind Symphony (Simon Holoweiko, conductor) – 24 October 2019
  • University of Southern California (Los Angeles) Thornton Wind Ensemble (Sharon Lavery, conductor) - 11 October 2019
  • Oklahoma State University (Stillwater) Wind Ensemble (Joseph Missal, conductor) – 3 October 2019
  • Arkansas Tech University (Russellville) Wind Ensemble (Daniel A. Belongia, conductor) – 10 March 2019
  • Eastern New Mexico University (Portales) Wind Symphony (Dustin Seifert, conductor) – 3 March 2019
  • Texas A&M University Kingsville Wind Symphony (Scott Jones, conductor) - 14 February 2019 (2019 TMEA Conference, San Antonio) *World Premiere Performance*
  • Texas A&M University Kingsville Wind Symphony (Scott Jones, conductor) - 11 February 2019 (TMEA Preview Concert)
  • Ohio University (Athens) Wind Symphony (Andrew Trachsel, conductor) – 5 February 2019
  • Ohio University (Athens) Wind Symphony (Andrew Trachsel, conductor) – 2 February 2019 (Ohio Music Education Association Conference, Cleveland, OH)*Consortium Premiere*

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Zhou, T. (2019). Seeker's Scherzo: For Wind Ensemble (2019) [score]. Zhou Tian Music: McKinney, Tx.
  • Zhou Tian website