Second Symphony (Serrano Alarcón)

From Wind Repertory Project
Luis Serrano Alarcón

Luis Serrano Alarcón

Subtitle: For Wind Orchestra

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 27:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) – Rental ($450.00)   |   Score Only (print) - $98.00


1. Maestoso - 8:20
2. Con vivacità – 6:40
3. Lento – 8:05
4. Presto – 6:25


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals (2)
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangles (2)
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This symphony was conceived as a work of “tributes” to the Romantic master composers and was especially inspired by their symphonies. These works have had a profound influence on the career of this composer; first as an interpreter and later as a composer: “Although my Second Symphony does not contain explicit musical quotations, any listener will be able to identify this music as relating to these symphonic composers, especially from the 19th century.”

The structure of the Second Symphony resembles that of a Romantic symphony. The first movement is in the form of sonata allegro, albeit reduced, with an initial motive based on an arpeggio of C minor (which subsequently reappears in the final movement, giving the work a cyclical character). The second movement, which is not a “scherzo” in the true classical sense, but which really evokes the “scherzante” character of some Romantic works, also has a structure of sonata allegro form. It is followed by a third movement of a slower character, although characterized by contrasts, written in E-flat major as a relative key of main C minor.

The symphony culminates with the fourth movement in rondo form. There are five sections with three refrains and two internal verses, inspired especially in harmonic, structural and melodic resources of those aforementioned composers that have made an indelible mark on my own compositional development. The fact that the composer is also a pianist has given him the opportunity to access firsthand the works of these great Russian Romantic composers: “As a result, all that I have learned from these masters has allowed me to express my gratitude and pay homage to them through this Second Symphony for Wind Orchestra.“

- Program Note from WASBE

Commissioned by the University of St. Thomas Symphonic Wind Ensemble, Dr. Matthew J. George, conductor.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer