Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Second Movement from "Symphony No 1"

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Howard Hanson

Howard Hanson (arr. J.C. Maddy)

Subtitle: Nordic

General Info

Year: 1922 / 1938
Duration: c. 4:55
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer LLC
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
D-flat Piccolo
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Written in 1922, Nordic Symphony is Hanson’s first symphony. Hanson was the first American to win the Prix de Rome fellowship, and was in Italy for three years, during which time he composed this symphony. A fine example of late-Romantic tonal musical language, “Nordic” has often been described as an American gloss on the early symphonies of Sibelius. Certainly Sibelius, along with Ottorino Respighi, Bach, and Palestrina, influenced his musical style. He was never ashamed of his Nordic roots, and was the first American composer of the twentieth century to attain worldwide prominence.

Hanson conducted the Nordic Symphony in New York in 1924, and was invited to head the Eastman School of Music at the University of Rochester that same year. Hanson remained at Eastman the rest of his life, creating a doctorate in musical composition and building the finest music school in the country.

- Program Note from Cypress Symphonic Band concert program, 25 March 2017


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • Florida: V
  • Tennessee: IV


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Hanson, H.; J. Maddy, (1938). Second Movement Nordic Symphony No. 1. Arranged for (Symphonic) Band by J.E. Maddy. [Score.]. C.C. Birchard & Co.: Boston.