Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Sea of Tranquility

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert Buckley

Robert Buckley

This work is the first movement of Buckley's suite The Seas of the Moon.

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 4:25
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.50


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Cabasa
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Ratchet (or Snare Drum)
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-toms (2)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Since the beginning of humanity we've been mesmerized by the moon, and what were originally thought to be “seas” appearing on the surface. The "Sea of Tranquility” is probably the best-known of these thanks to the landing of Apollo 11 in 1969. The first movement of Robert Buckley's four-movement suite captures the astronauts' sense of awe and wonder of their journey from lift-off, to weightlessness, to the triumph and jubilation of the lunar landing itself.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by Michael Burch-Pesses in celebration of his 20th anniversary as conductor of the Oregon Symphonic Band.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of North Dakota (Grand Forks) Wind Ensemble (James Popejoy, conductor) - 12 October 2021
  • Band of the 15th Field Regiment (Vancouver, B.C.) - 29 January 2020
  • Oregon (Portland) Symphonic Band (Michael Burch-Pesses, conductor) - 22 April 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Bob Buckley Productions – Accessed 18 May 2018
  • Buckley, R. (2018). Sea of Tranquility: (1st movement of: "The Seas of the Moon") [score] Hal Leonard:Milwaukee, Wisc.