Sea Treaders, The

From Wind Repertory Project
W. Francis McBeth

W. Francis McBeth

Subtitle: In Calm and Storm

General Info

Year: 1996
Duration: c. 10:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $160.00   |   Score Only (print) - $16.95


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Brake Drums (2)
  • Celeste
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Rain Stick
  • Ship’s Bell
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone
  • Vibraphone

Program Notes

The Sea Treaders was commissioned by the United State Naval Academy Band under the command of Commander T.M. Burch-Presses for the 150th anniversary celebration of the Academy. The work was premiered October 10, 1995, under the direction of Commander T.E. Metcalf and the Academy Band.

The work is programmatic in that it portrays the sea in both calm and storm in two connected movements. The work is dedicated to the Naval Academy Band and both Commanders Michael Burch-Presses and Thomas Metcalf.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Michigan: Senior High AA
  • North Carolina: VI
  • Tennessee: VI
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Battaglia (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Barber) (1967/2021)

All Wind Works


  • McBeth, W. (1996). The Sea Treaders in Calm And Storm: For Symphonic Band [score]. Southern Music: San Antonio, Tx.