Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Scenes from the Bitterroot

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Tyler Harrison

Tyler Harrison

General Info

Year: 2020
Duration: c. 6:00
Difficulty: V+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Tyler Harrison Music
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) - $129.00   |   Score Only (digital) - $79.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet (optional Contra-alto Clarinet)
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion (4+ players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Guiro
  • Maracas
  • Marimba
  • Tam-Tam
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

On a summer morning, I sat outside looking at the mountains of Montana’s Bitterroot Valley. This valley is visually stunning with panoramic views of the Rockies. As I sat quietly, I was struck by the sounds of birds coming at me from every direction, and I began to feel a personal and spiritual connection to them.

Each section of this work depicts a different scene taken from the extraordinary beauty of the Bitterroot. The opening scene and its variations are rough transcriptions of the birdsong I heard amidst passing summer storms. The middle scene paints the sounds of night and the following sunrise. Finally, the climax represents a flock of birds in formation as they flew against the sunset, and two birds sing to each other in the ending duet.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer