Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Santi Miguel

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Santi Miguel


Santi Miguel Alarcón (b. 17 November 1992, Buñol, Spain) is a Spanish composer and conductor.

Miguel began his music studies at the CIM La Harmonónica de Buñol and later at the San Rafael Professional Conservatory of Music with the specialty of Trombone and Piano, obtaining the Extraordinary Prize for Professional Teaching (2010).

He has studied with renowned composers such as Luis Serrano Alarcón, Francisco Zacarés Fort, Andrés Valero-Castells, José Manuel López López, José María Sánchez Verdú, Agustín Charles, among others. He has attended master classes specialized in contemporary music with avant-garde authors such as Salvatore Sciarrino, Philippe Hurel, Luis de Pablo, Sofia Gubaidulina, or Alberto Posadas.

His music has been performed by international soloists such as Ximo Vicedo and groups such as The New Trombone Collective, Symphonic Band of the Professional Conservatory of Jaén, and the Symphonic Band of the SIUM de Monserrat, among others.

In 2011 he won the Audience Award in the composition contest of the Slide Factory in Rotterdam (Holland), and was also a finalist in 2013. He received a commission for the Kerkrade World Music Competition at the 2017 Concert Division, by the CIM La Harmonónica de Buñol with the work Tempus Fugit. In the same year he wrote Sad Clown Symphony as a required piece for the XXXIX Band Contest of the Valencian Community.

Miguel also has an active career in musical conducting, having participated as a guest director for Metales y Percusiones of Buñol (2014) and for the Banda Sinfónica del CIM La Armónica de Buñol (2015). He is currently the director of the Santa Cecilia de Chera Musical Society, Cortes de Pallás Musical Athenaeum and San Blas de Teresa de Cofrentes Musical Society.

Works for Winds