Sacred Suite, A

From Wind Repertory Project
Brant Karrick

Brant Karrick

General Info

Year: 2006
Duration: c. 8:20
Difficulty: III+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


1. Spirit of the Ages Fanfare – 2:50
2. Consolation – 2:40
3. True Happiness/How Firm a Foundation - 2:55


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Maracas
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chimes
  • Wood Block


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A Sacred Suite is a three-movement work that uses American songs from the shaped-note singing books Southern Harmony and Harmonie Sacra, and an old English hymn. The first movement, Spirit of the Ages Fanfare, begins with a fanfare motive that is passed around the brass and leads into O God Our Help in Ages Past by William Croft. A short fugal section pays homage to two great composers of past ages and sort of plays into the idea behind the title. The movement is 76 measures long, like in the “Spirit of 76!” (bad pun!)

The second movement features a euphonium solo in a Holst-like setting of the beautiful Southern Harmony song Consolation. The third movement combines True Happiness from Southern Harmony with Joseph Funk’s How Firm a Foundation from Harmonie Sacra into a rollicking 6/8 allegro. There are also short tributes to Holst and Grainger.

A Sacred Suite was commissioned by the 2006 Orange County (Orlando, Fla.) Public School Ninth-Tenth Grade Honor Band and premiered by the ensemble on January 21 with the composer conducting.

The work is dedicated to the composer’s parents. “My mother has been a church organist since before I was born, and I have many fond memories of her opening up the pipes and letting it rip. My father, a music educator and composer, taught me how to orchestrate and to appreciate counterpoint.”

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music


State Ratings

  • North Carolina: IV


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Baylor University (Waco, Texas) Concert Band (Stuart Ivey, conductor) - 1 May 2022
  • Andrews University (Berrien Springs, Mich.) Wind Symphony (Byron Graves, conductor) - 19 March 2021
  • Andrews University (Berrien Springs, Mich.) Band (Byron Graves, conductor) – 2 March 2019
  • Ouachita Baptist University (Arkadelphia, Ark.) Wind Ensemble (Craig V. Hamilton, conductor) – 10 March 2016
  • Winter Park (Fla.) High School Wind Ensemble (Brant Karrick, conductor) – 21 December 2006 (2006 Midwest Clinic)

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Hendricks III, John. "A Sacred Suite." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 10, Compiled and edited by Richard Miles, 349-358. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2015.
  • Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music. "Brant Karrick." Accessed 28 March 2016.
  • Karrick, B. (2006). A Sacred Suite [score]. C. Alan Publications: Greensboro, N.C.