Ryukuan Fantasy for Saxophone Quartet

From Wind Repertory Project
Yasuhide Ito

Yasuhide Ito

This work may also be found under the spelling Ryukyuan Fantasy.

General Info

Year: 1997 / 1999
Duration: c. 4:11
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Two pianos eight hands
Publisher: Ito Music, through Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - 3,000 yen; (digital) - 3,000 yen


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Originally sung in a slow cantabile style, this exciting musical arrangement, based on the Okinawan folksong Asadoya Yunta, has an energetic rhythmic drive and momentum. The original version was for two pianos with eight hands and was commissioned by the Yo-gen-kai Association in March, 1997. It was premiered by the Okinawa Prefectural University of Arts professor Setsuko Iwasaki and her students.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.